Tales of words

“Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind.”

Rudyard Kipling was not wrong, I am personally high on a combination of email, audible and Radio 4 for most of the week. I relax with books or fast talking TV dramas, wake up to words of news and lull myself to sleep with the comfortable, familiar words of a loved author. I record my life in diaries, prayer journals, professional development records and, now, this blog. Words sustain, justify and make sense of my life.

At the beginning of this blog, our avalanche of words, it only seemed right to meditate a little on words. Words have cut me to the quick, wounding me far beyond what the proverbial sticks and stones ever could. Words have taken me to my highest highs and my darkest depths. Words are powerful, they set in motion strings of actions that spark revolution, overthrow nations and literally re-write history. Words are never just words. To handle words is to handle dynamite.

Are words powerful because they remember that God said “Let there be light”(Genesis 1); do they remember deep back in their bones that The Word “became flesh and dwelt among us” and that because of this “we have seen his glory”(John 1)?

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God… In him was life, and the life was the light of men.” (John 1) The power of all other words seem to sound an echo of the power of that Word.

God spoke the world into life, breathed life into us, and then wrote Himself into the story to redeem us.  Words hold power because they beget action. Words hold power because they create. Words hold power because they remember, and they transmit.

The Bible is full of words transmitting the stories of God through time- allowing us to glimpse his glory. Through reading these words we meet The Word; and the power held in those wafer thin pages- the hope, the glory and the love- is almost overwhelming. I have met no other words that are as alive as these, and that sustain such as these.

I don’t pretend to have my life figured out, or to have found the key to success; honestly I am not as regular  a reader of the Bible as I aim to be. However, it is only in the Bible that I have found words that speak to every emotion I have ever felt, and every difficulty I have ever faced. It is in those words that I have found connection with people from across the globe, and to those words that I turn when I can make no sense of what I see. It is only in those words that I have met The Word, and found redemption.

 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was with God in the beginning. Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it.”

-John 1: 1-4

(All Bible quotes taken from ESV translation)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

